Home > Futuristic Sights, Personal Ponderings, Travels > The Privellege of Proximity

The Privellege of Proximity

When I was younger, I would always lament that my cousins are boring. No longer the case! With us being older, wiser and merrier ( aka of age) family time is now always a good time and I sincerely look forward to every visit.

My Christmas holidays in London are exemplary of this. It’s only been over the past two years that I’ve been visiting England quite frequently and one of my favorite parts is how everything is compact. The physical closeness of family, friends, restaurants, temples, grocers, tailors, schools etc provides a diferent level of intimacy that I haven’t yet seen in the US.

An instance of this is when I got a watch rash on my wrist and my grandma insisted on taking me to the doctor. I did not want to sit for an eternity in a socialized health system’s waiting room. but if you know my grandma, you know that arguing with her is senseless. So early-ish one morning, we crossed the street and passed about 5 houses before we were at the doctors. Big surprise. I always thought thèse things weren’t conveniently located in such a system. Next surprise : all the signs were all written in English and Punjabi. My grandma’s little neighborhood is 95% Indian and this is level of personalization I also didn’t realize existed in socialized health systems. but then, the jaw-hit-the-floor suprise: my grandma knew everyone in the office on a personal level and the secretary fudged the books so that I could be admitted as a British Citizen. Finally, near-conniption-level surprise : I waited a total of 30 seconds before the doctor admitted me. Being in England has convinced me small is better and I’m on my way to becoming a fully fledged Libertarian.

Point being, I love visiting England because I love the pleasant surprises that come with compactness. Time, love, and connection are all augmented.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

