Huh? Whose God?

Everyday the imam  reminds me I ought to start cooking lunch or dinner (or taking a nap). Everytime I tell a Tunisian friend I would like to do something or have something done by tomorow, I get an ‘Inchallah’ (aka ‘God willing’) as opposed to a ‘Yes!’ . Whenever I’m over my bosses’ house for dinner, a guest will randomly start praying in front of everyone while people are chatting as opposed to going in a private room. People continually sneak in little reminders about what it means to be a Muslim and what I ought to do to best please God.

Which is funny because I just came from a super new age yoga bubble and was raised in a super new age Sikh family, so all in all, my cultural-religio-spiritual beliefs are not quite jiving here. I have my beliefs and I’m accustomed to keeping them private, but sometimes I find my tolerance being tested where I just want to go into a classroom lecture on parallels between Eastern Philosophy, Reform Judeo-Christian thought, Sikhism/Sufiism and the little teensy bit I know on Sunni Islam. And if one more person asks me why Indians wear a red dot on their forehead, I’m going to have a conniption. I don’t know why!! Geez Louise, Wiki that ish already if you’re so curious.

But perhaps all this preaching would come to no good? I’ve been told things which make me wonder sometimes what I am doing here, such as when I was told by about 17 people that I shouldn’t wash dishes with hot water because there are spirits in the sink or, that I shouldn’t buy my brothers silk ties or gold rings because silk and gold are designated by God only for women.

But then again, I’ve heard things here which make me wonder why the West doesn’t better facilitate immigration? The intellectual chasms I have witnessed between those who have spent a few years abroad and those who haven’t is incredible. And what I have noticed in Tunis is that it is really not a sending country of immigrants, as Europe makes it seem but rather, a starting and ending point of circular migration from all over Africa. People’s dreams here are to spend a few years abroad and then bring their learning back to Tunisia. Those who have, have successful business, widely tolerant minds, and a tempered application of religion. So where is the missed communication exactly? Is it with the Muslims as the media likes to make it appear or is it with the West who doesn’t feel it necessary to provide access to knowledge?

  1. December 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I am often searching for new infos in the internet about this theme. Thanx!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

