Home > Tunisian Life > At last a glimpse

At last a glimpse

At last a glimpse of what I’ve been up to! Life in Tunisia has been awful busy, but more than awful busy, unbelievably bewildering. Et c’est pour cela that I have not publicly documented a thing despite my finding a million and five instances of life needing to be shared with friends and family far away.

I’ll kick off this blog by explaining why I am here (I’ve gotten far too many wtfrick’s not to). I graduated early with an intention to experience things in life I hadn’t yet had a chance to experience while hyper-speeding through Cornell in 2 years. So what have I done? I learned to cook a mean Indian dinner, take my yoga practice to a new level with a teacher training, read all the pleasure reading I hadn’t yet devoured and know my lovely city of Cleveland  more intimately. But of course exploring the world takes more time than one would think. You can’t hyper speed exploration! I had already premeditated by my senior year to take a year off for traveling and discovering. I figured, with health care and pensions these days, I’ll be living till I’m 95, working till I’m 90…I’ve got time to play;) So I put my resumé up through AIESEC, an amazing organization for young people with international fancies, and was contacted within a week from a super cool company in Tunisia. Score!

Another side of why I’m off and abroad is professional dreaming. My hopes for the future are to enter academia and specialize in immigration issues. As I want to learn about a culture that’s been having great impact on global decision making, I decided to find a stint in the Maghreb where there is an Islamic culture and an immigration hotspot.  I also figured the Maghreb is better than the Middle East proper since people speak French and I’d have ample opportunity to practice my language skills. So in short, my goals to learn about the various strands of Islam and a very important immigrant culture are being met.( If you’d like to check out my past travels discovering South Asian immigrant culture, go to http://lg326.wordpress.com/)

And for the final factor? I wanted to spend a good chunk of my year mucking about in a beautiful country with wonderful weather and tomes of preserved history. Tunisia bien sur.

So I’ve had incredible experiences in just a short month with ample stories but few pictures (a grace d’un voleur, ou le plus probable, mes betises). Little by little, I’ll start recounting all in a non-chronological order. Such is my head, anything but logical, let alone chronological!!

Alors, ciao ciao for now.

  1. Carol More
    October 18, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Preeti: You’re more amazing to me than ever now! I am so excited for what life has to offer you. And….what a wonderful ‘just do it’ testimony. We never know if we have that live-to-90 for sure so why not live for today! And you are. Thanks for the reminder as I start yet another fabulous day full of what I am sure will be adventure! Love ya and miss ya!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

